Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autoroute not repeatable

Solved!
Go to solution

As an experiement, I layed out a microcontroller with headers on each side. I connected the pin of the micro to the headers in such a way as it was a one to one connection. I then copied this header connection for all four sides of the micro. I used same dimensions in all four cases so autoroute should have been identicle. This was mot the case. I tried all sorts of autoroute settings but could never get all four sides to route. It was able to route two sides, but other 2 it failed. Why, this should have been identicle for all sides. See images.

Note: Unrouted image on top image. All sides mirrored images. Attempted routed signals in bottem image.

routed1.jpgrouted2.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,957 Views)

Just for your information,

I have been routing boards for over 20 years and I have never met anyone using an autorouter.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,947 Views)
Solution
Accepted by mnauss

Hello mnauss,

Thank you very much for your question.

I would like to show you an article that mentions a reason why this might be happening. You might be able to find the document on the following link:

• Best Practices in PCB Design: Routing

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/6880/en/#toc7

As mentiones over here, the autorouting process is made by a mathematical routine that it might not be specificly what you need and that is why we do not recommend to use it on a critical route. We recommend to do the critical nets manually to avoid any errors, because this way we avoid having unacceptable routing on your board.

I really hope this information helps answering your question.

Regards,

Luis

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,936 Views)

@stressed_user wrote:

Just for your information,

I have been routing boards for over 20 years and I have never met anyone using an autorouter.