From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multimeter problem-> values way off

Hi everyone,
today I installed MultiSim 10 and to my surprise, the multimeter is giving me impossible values, even in the most basic circuits. My first thought was "Ok, I'm an undergrad; so I might miss something in the circuit", but even in the most basic one that contains a DC source of 3 volts, 2 serially connected resistors with 10 Ohms each, the multimeter readings are:
V:  3V, which is right
A:  300mA if multimeter is connected 'around' on a single resistor, and -r- if connected to both resistors
R: 150 M Ohms.. That's right.. I'm getting 150,000,000 in what is supposed to be a mere 20.

What might be the reason, any ideas? This has to have an easy solution, with something very obvious that I am overlooking. Thanks a lot...
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(12,783 Views)

Hi Cornellian,

I just created a circuit in Multisim 10, as you described, made the measurements you described, and all is well. Could you attach your circuit(s) and show how you made the measurements? For example, I'm not sure what you mean by "if multimeter is connected 'around' on a single resistor, and -r- if connected to both resistors".  I did, as an experiment, measure the resistance of my circuit with the power supply connected, and got a reading of 300 Megs. Of course, you should never do this in real life!!

Message Edited by digitalguy on 05-20-2007 01:48 AM

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(12,778 Views)
Hello.  Assuming you aren't making an error, you aint seen nothin' yet!