USRP Software Radio

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thunderbolt GPS clock

Hi everyone,

I am a USRP novice. I am working on connecting several USRP devices together with the external clock (building a MIMO system).

My USRP is NI 2921 and the external clock is Thunderbolt GPS clock which is recommended in the article:

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/14311/en

Unfortunately, with the default setting, the PPS output is disabled. To activate this output, I connect the Thunderbolt clock to my computer with a COM cable and run official management software "Thunderbolt Monitor". Following picture shows what I got: all fields are filled with question marks. Also, I found that the TX in the lower left of the status bar always blinks while the Rx

keeps dark. This indicates that the software keep transmitting commands to the clock, but does not receive any feedback reports from the clock.  

Is there anyone who has similar issues? Is there any suggestions about my case?

Thanks a lot

status.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,044 Views)

Hi,

You could try the Lady Heather GPSDO Control Software from the following URL:

http://www.ke5fx.com/heather/readme.htm

What is the make and model of your Thunderbolt GPS?  I'd recommend looking through the manual to check the default baud rate is correct.  Also make sure you are using the correct com port in device manager.

Regards,

Mike

--
Mike Jameson M0MIK BSc MIET
Email: mike@scanoo.com
Web: http://scanoo.com

Message 2 of 6
(7,033 Views)

Hi.