From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Signal Generators

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Labview 8.5 to detect defects in material structure

Hi there!

I'm currently new to LabVIEW and am at a loss in using it, together with the hardware available for me, for conducting an ultrasonic non-destructive testing on a piece of material.

Objective:

- To detect defects within a structure.

Hardware on hand:

- NI PXI-5422

- NI PXI-5122

Software on hand: 

- LabVIEW 8.5 

Request Assistance in:

- giving some pointers as to how to start off in the right direction

(would really appreciate if there some "Print Screen" of the design structure or recommended VIs to use)

Thank You and Best Regards,

HC

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(6,321 Views)
Hi HC Tan,

This is a very open ended post so I shall try and give you some pointers to documentation that will hopefully guide you on where to find information about what you wish to do.

Have you looked at the LabVIEW examples? There are a great deal of examples covering a large number of different programming ideas. These range from setting up Arrays to developing user interfaces. All the examples can be accessed from the LabVIEW start-up screen (on the right "Find Examples...") or from within LabVIEW itself (Help->Find Examples...).

If you have never used LabVIEW before, there are a great deal of how-tos in the LabVIEW help pages. These are located in Contents->Fundamentals. I would strongly recommend reading through the "Getting Started with LabVIEW" Chapter of the help as this details a lot of useful information about using MAX (measurement & Automation Explorer) which you will need later on.