From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Periodic waveform generator error message

I downloaded the Periodic Waveform Generation with LabVIEW FPGA (Memory Read and Write) example and wanted to run it on my computer first so i selected the proper debugging option in FPGA target properties. I didn't modify anything in any of the files, yet when i run the host VI I get the following message: "Execution already in progress. Another FPGA VI for this target is already executing on the development computer.  Stop the other VI before running this VI." It seems to happen when the FPGA_Periodic_Load subVi is called. Since I'm new to cRIO, I have no idea what might be causing this. Any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,302 Views)

Dear dahlianoir!

Do You mean by "i selected the proper debugging option in FPGA target properties" that Yoo are executing the FPGA VI on the development computer?

Are You only running the FPGA VI or also the RT host?

Debug mode fro FPGA VI has limited capabilities related to using IO, proper timing and so on.

The FPGA_Periodic_Load subVI is used by the RT host VI, so it should not influcence how the FPGA VI runs. 

What is the pupose of Your poject?

For waveform generation and acquisition the NI CompactRIO Waveform Reference Library could be a better solution.

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/6206

Bes Regards,

CLA, CLED
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(5,279 Views)

Yes, I am executing on the development computer. I'm running the host VI only since the subVIs it contains open the reference to the FPGA VI (FPGA_Periodic_Start) and then run it via Invoke Method (FPGA_Periodic_Load).