From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx, FPGA/Scan Engine, and other hardware interfaces - General Question

Hi All -
I've had a handful of LABview projects over the last year and am starting to get a little more familiar with the tool. I've had some experience with a few different pieces of hardware like NI USB, NI cRIO, NI Ethercat, NI cDAQ, and NI PXI.  I'm seeking a general understanding of the various hardware platforms and the appropriate interfaces for each.

And, more specifically, sometimes I use DAQmx and sometimes Scan-Engine/FPGA, but I'm not sure why. How do I choose? Are there other interfaces that I should be aware of?  Obviously FPGA is an option if there is an FPGA device, but why can't you program FPGA with DAQmx?

Regarding RIO, I found one article that was somewhat helpful: "I just wanted to clear one thing up, NI Scan Engine is part of the NI-RIO driver, this is different to NI-DAQmx. NI-RIO (and Scan Engine) is for FPGA based products, such as the R-Series boards and the cRIO (Real Time Target). On these products you can't use DAQmx." (James Hillman) (https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/NI-DAQmx-read-VI/td-p/918100)

In terms of individual devices, is there a master list somewhere that shows the different hardware bases and which interfaces are appropriate? For example, I found this one for DAQmx (file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/National%20Instruments/NI-DAQ/readme.html#devSupport).  From my short experience, here is what I've run into so far:

NI USD (6343, 6501) - DAQmx
NI cRIO (with Controller)(9035) - Scan Engine
NI cRIO (EtherCAT)(9144) - Scan Engine
NI PXI (PXIe-1085 with controller PXIe-8840) - Scan Engine