PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

syncronize camera acquisition with PXIe-4138 output

Hello,

I have a PXIe-1071 chassis with PXIe-8840 embedded controller (Win 7 OS) and PXIe-4138.  I use the PXIe-4138 to send a periodic external signal and I need to syncronize a camera acquisition with the PXIe-4138 signal. The camera is a USBcamera that I want to control through an hardware trigger.

I think it is a quite standard procedure with labview, but I didn't find a proper example, and I am quite new to Labview.
For what I understood, I should connect the PXIe-8840 trigger connection with the PXIe-4138 through the PXIe-1071 backplane trigger line. Then, I should send a periodic trigger from the PXIe-4138 to the camera through this line, passing from the PXIe-8840 trigger connection.
Am I right? Is there anybody who can suggest me how to set the architecture of the labview .vi?
Many thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,184 Views)

You will be using the SMB Connector on PXI(e) Controller to Route Trigger Signals to the USB camera.

https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA00Z0000019VUOSA2&l=en-US

To do this you will have to wire "/<hostname>/TRIG_SMB" (update with your hostname) to the Export Signal API as shown below.

santo_13_0-1621534144719.png

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,156 Views)

Thank you! I did as you suggest and it works.

My problem now is that the SMB output is systematically 5V. Once I send the output from the PXIe-4138, the trigger switch to 0.5V and then goes back to 5V once the PXIe-4138 sequence is finished.