From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommended approach for PXI control from Python

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I need to control several PXI devices (basically DC sources and DMM) via Python but I'm unsure about what the sanest approach could be.

Firstly I tried to use pyvisa as I've always done for SCPI devices and although I can open the corresponding resources, these have read_memory/write_memory methods since for example PXI-4110 doesn't take SCPI commands but direct register access, and from what I understand this low level control is not supported.

My second approach was to try control it with ctypes (package on which I have very little experience). However I'm stuck there because I can't find any detailed information on how to do this. I tried using examples from C++ etc as a reference but without luck. In particular, I load nidcpower.dll; checking http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370736R-01/ni_dc_power_supplies_help/software_behavior/ I see I have to first open a session with niDCPower_InitializeWithChannels. The corresponding resourceName for this function would be 'PXI1Slot5_2' as identified from MAX, but all it returns is -1074134966 no matter what I do, whatever this code means. I imagine I'm not even passing the arguments correctly, but I don't know where to look.

I would like to know how to properly initialize my devices this way, or even if there's any other approach.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(10,444 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author eperez