PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC's MAX unabel to detect PXI connected over LAN/Ethernet

Hello NI Community,

I am quite new to both NI, PXI and everything in between, so I am sorry if I do not include the necessary information while on the other hand include too many excessive details. If so, let me know and I will try my best assisting with the requested information. And I am sorry if this question really is a no-brainer.

I am currently doing a project where we plan on outputting analogue signals from the NI SCB-68A which is connected to the NI PXIe-6363 Multifunctional DAQ Device inside a NI PXIe-1082 chassis. A NI PXIe-8820 Embedded Controller (running on Windows 7 Professional SP1) is also installed in the chassis and armed with an external monitor and keyboard I am able to send the desired signal from the SCB-68A (using both the Test Panel in the 8820’s MAX 15.0.0 and from a LabVIEW VI run on the 8820). However, the most desirable would of course be to control these PXI devices from my laptop (a HP ProBook 430 G3 running on 64-bit Windows 10 Education), and I have therefore connected the HP with the PXIe-8820 using an Ethernet cable. The IP addresses have been manually set (HP IP: 192.168.1.1, PXIe-8820 IP: 192.168.1.2) and I am able to both ping and share files between the two computers. Therefore, it seems strange that MAX (on the HP) neither detects the chassis (PXIe-1082), the embedded controller (PXIe-8820) nor the peripheral module (PXIe-6363).