NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Retreiving live status of sequence in TestStand

Hi There, 

I'm new to TestStand, and I'm asking if there is a plug-in or some other tool ( API for example ) that can give you access to the live status of the TestStand sequencer. 
Something like: => the sequence is Running or stopped, or there is an error in the sequence. this kind of informations.

Thank You.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,389 Views)

Hi Hanoub,

Short answer: Yes.

Long answer: there's a few ways with the API to get execution status, which depend on where you're asking from:

From the Test Executive Application:

GetRunState Method

Syntax

ApplicationMgr.GetRunState ( exec)

Return Value

ExecutionRunStates

Use the following constants with this data type:

• ExecRunState_Paused–(Value: 2) The execution is suspended.
  • ExecRunState_Running–(Value: 1) The execution is running.
  • ExecRunState_Stopped–(Value: 3) The execution has finished executing.

and 

GetTerminationState Method

Syntax

ApplicationMgr.GetTerminationState ( exec)

Return Value

ExecutionTerminationStates

Use the following constants with this data type:

• ExecTermState_Aborting–(Value: 4) TestStand is aborting the running execution.
  • ExecTermState_KillingThreads–(Value: 5) TestStand is ending the threads in the execution.
  • ExecTermState_Normal–(Value: 1) The execution is not terminating.
  • ExecTermState_Terminating–(Value: 2) TestStand is terminating the running execution.
  • ExecTermState_TerminatingInteractive–(Value: 3) TestStand is terminating the running interactive execution.

If you're looking to get it from an execution of a sequence or via the process model:

GetStates Method

Syntax

Execution.GetStates ( runState, termState)

Purpose

Returns the current state of the execution.

I hope this helps.

Message 2 of 8
(1,381 Views)

You might be interested in SystemLink, specifically SystemLink Test Module: