NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get sequence step info into LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm relatively new at TestStand development, particularly creating operator interfaces. I started with the simple OI example in LabVIEW that ships with TestStand. I've made some mods just fine, but I need to extract data from the sequence to send to remote read consoles that are not TestStand OI's, they are just LabVIEW ui's that display test information for engineers. 

Here's what I'm trying to do. For a sequence that is running, every time a step occurs I want to pull into LabVIEW information about that step. Particularly

• Step name
  • Step number

Additionally, I need to know how many total steps there are in the sequence. What the users will see on the read console is "Step X or Y" and "step name". 

I've been reading about the TestStand API and trying out properties and invokes...there is just way to much there. What would be the easiest way to extract this info at the start of each step?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,812 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wrkcrw00

Hi wrkcrw00

If you have a single sequence that you want to do this for, create a "SequenceFilePostStep" Engine Callback in your sequence file.  If you have multiple sequences create a "ProcessModelPostStep" in the Process Model sequence they use.

Assuming you only want to work with 1 sequence file.  The "SequenceFilePostStep" will be called after every step in your sequence file has been run.  Inside your SequenceFilePostStep add a step to communicate with the VI that is displaying your sequence information.  NOTE:  you probably don't want to call your display VI each time, you will need some sort of mechanism to pass the new data to it each time the SequenceFilePostStep is called.

To pass information to your display VI:

1. you can get the name of the last step executed using RunState.Caller.Step.Name