Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a LabVIEW Based Virtual Instrument for NI Multisim - Missing Function?

Hi there,

I am trying to build an output instrument for NI Multisim according to the instructions here:

Community Admin Note: Document link has been removed due to invalid documentation.

The problem is that i cannot find the function i see labeled as "Gen Signal" anywhere in my Labview version (8.5) so i can

use it in the "Update Initial Output Data"case box! 

Excuse my ignorance, but i am new to LabView and unfortunately in electronic schematics as well.I am doing this project for my school assignment.

Is it available in another Labview version, or can you tell me where i can spot it so i can build my VI?

Thanks in advance.  I hope i posted on the right section...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(7,565 Views)

234123410… ,

I believe this is a basic wrapper VI around the basic function generator vi found in the Functions Pallette under Signal Processing -> Waveform Generation -> "Basic Function Generator.vi"... Basically the essential things are the controls (for controlling function, frequency, ampltitude) and the output waveform configured as a waveform data type array.

This wrapper VI and the actual template instrument sample VI for an output type instrument (meaning the VI outputs/generates a signal to Multisim) is found in the Multisim 'samples' folder...  in the samples location it is found in the /Output folder and is named "StarterOutputInstrumentV2.lvproj"... the associated VI is the "generate Simulated Data.vi" found within this sample project/llb.

These sample LabVIEW instruments (LV Projects and associated VIs) are found under the Multisim installation and can be found in one of two places... (depending on which OS you are using)...

C:\Users\Public\Documents\National Instruments\Circuit Design Suite 10.1\samples\LabVIEW Instruments\