Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

trigger

Hello,

I'm new to LabView, NI. So far, I've been going through the "getting started" book and parts of the measurment and user manual. Still, I struggle to do in my view something very simple...
Any advice is appreciated!

What I want to do:
I want to read four channels (0-10V). Besides recording the data of all four channels, I want to use one of the channeles to trigger the data aquisition (, analog trigger,rising slope). Moreover, data aquisition should start some samples before the actual trigger event.

I tried:
Firstly, I put all channels into one task. Next, I defined a trigger based on one channel to define the start of the data aquisition. So far so good--all worked as expected. Next I modified this initial setup, I tried to use the "reference trigger" as I want to record already some samples before the actual trigger value is reached (at least I read in the manual that I have to use this trigger type in such cases). Unfortunately, trying to run the code gives me an error message, which states that only one channel per task is allowed if I use the "reference trigger".

My question:
Why??? I checked over and over again the manuals but couldn't find any solution. Is triggering really so fancy that I cannot find a descent explenation?

My measurement equipment:
- multifunction DAQ (M-series)
- BNC-2110 board
- LabView 7.1

At the moment I'm just completely confused. I cannot believe that such very basic things seem to be so difficult.

Thank's very much for all of your suggestions!!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,703 Views)
I don't know "why", I presume it's a hardware limitation on the reference trigger. It is documented in the DAQmx help, though.