Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-6009 problem in VirtualBox XP

I am an instructor moving LabVIEW teaching from PCs to Macs. Because the MAC software does not seem to have the level of development as the Windows driver base, I decided to create a plain XP Virtual Machine using VirtualBox running on a 4GB iMAC. I am using the USB-6009 device that NI has loaned me as a demo.. and I have a 3 week license from NI for evaluation.

I've had nothing but problems. I downloaded the latest LabVIEW evaluation version of 8.6 and (as of a week ago) the latest NIDAQmx. Each are installed on an XP VM inside VirtualBox and given 2GB of RAM.

I have a few questions.

#1..  Does NI expect LabVIEW to run pretty normally in a VM? I am constantly having LabVIEW hang when I cancel a process and I have to resort to disconnecting and reconnecting the USB-6009 device (which can be done easily by a few mouse clicks in the VM control)

#2...    If so, how would I go about troubleshooting this problem..

The USB-6009 is picked up fine and I can use the test panel and in the automation utility. I can create virtual channels that seem to work fine.

I use the DAQ assistant to read the 6009 device. Inside the DAQ assistant as I go to set up the channel, I can perform a "RUN" test and it seems to get samples fine from the 6009 and displays the value (I am using a simple scaling factor.. that works fine).

But when I connect the DAQ assistant "data" output to a simple numeric control control, put the whole thing in a while loop, the software does not seem to be able to get samples properly. The software hangs and I cannot stop it using the stop icon.. I have to disconnect/reconnect the usb device.

I set up the DAQ assistant to simply get a single sample on demand.. I have tried using 1K samples at 1K rate and it returned an error .. seemed like it couldn't get samples fast enough..