Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 6009 - Current Issue

Hi Everyone,

I am a novice at using LabVIEW and its devices. I am playing around with a project and I need to switch a 24VDC supply ON/OFF using an optocoupler with input 5VDC. I will be sending the control signals using the DAQ.

My problem is that the optocoupler requires a input forward current of  somewhere between 7mA to 12 mA to run but I cannot source this much current from the USB 6009. I ran a current test from the internal voltage supply of the DAQ which according to the datasheet is 5V, max 200mA. Upopn running the current test I only found that the internal supply is only sourncing .36mA which is very very low. Am I doing something wrong, is this data correct ?

I have attached the optocoupler datasheet incase anyone wants to have a look.

I read somewhere in this forum that the digital outputs source about 8mA from each port. Is that true ? If it is, is there a specific way to source it somehow, because that would make my work really simple.

Please help !!!!!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,959 Views)

Hi again,

Forgot to mention another test that I did: - 

I played around with the internal power spply and attached a 470 ohm resistor across it and measured the voltage drop, which was negligible.

I did the same with one of the digital output ports which I assume also produce the same voltage of around 5 V but this time I got a massive voltage drop of .45 V. Why was this observed with the digital output and not with the internal voltage supply ?

Cheers.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,958 Views)
anyone ???
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,926 Views)

Hello,

The Optoisolator is rated at an average of 7-12mA input current, with a maximum of 20mA. The USB-6009 is rated to 8.5mA so you may have issues.

But there is something to try, please look at page 22 of the USB-6009 datasheet for guidance on using an external pull-up resistor.

I hope this helps!

0 Kudos