Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to connect 377A12 condensor microphone with BNC-2120

Hi,

I am a graduate student doing my research thesis on Sound signal analysis for online control and monitoring in machining process. I have 377A12 condensor microphone, BNC-2120 as by DAQ and labview 2010. 

I am setting up the experiment for my research. Could you please share and guide me for setting up the experiment. I would like to know if you could provide me with the guidelines of the above microphone connection with BNC and also labview setting. I have gone through the manuals and labview guideline but i am not able to get the proper signal. The signal i obtained is not remaining in fixed centerlines. It keeps on moving towards the maximum voltages setting and then stops sensing the signals.

Please guide me in this regards as soon as possible.

Dawa

UNB graduates students

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,005 Views)

Hi Dawa,

As far as setting up the hardware, it should be just a matter of connecting the output of the microphone to an analog input BNC connector on the BNC-2120 block. The fact that you are getting incorrect readings in LabVIEW could be caused by a number of factors. 

Is the hardware detected properly in Measurement & Automation Explorer (MAX)? 

Have you tried getting a measurement with a MAX test panel? What DAQ card do you have connected in your PC (what is the BNC-2120 interfacing with)?

Are you using a LabVIEW example as code for your test? If not, I would recommend first trying a simple example program such as Cont Acq & Graph Voltage - Int Clk which can be found in the Example Finder by navigating to Hardware Input and Ouptut >> DAQmx >> Analog Measurements >> Voltage.