Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx read measuring slowly

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm still fairly new to LabView, only been using it about 5 months, so bear with me.  

I'm trying to figure out why the read function in DAQmx is running slower than I am expecting.  I am using a PCIe-6363 card connected to two BNC-2110 connector blocks.  I am running the attached code (Position AOM control_prod_cons) and the producer while loop is taking about 14 ms to execute.  Here's why that's an issue:

This subVI is part of a larger structure that we use in our research lab to run our home-built nanofabrication system.  We are using a computer-controlled stage (move sage task), reading sensor monitors from the stage (sensor monitor task) and controlling a shutter that controls laser power getting to the sample (subVI with lightning bolt).  So four analog outputs and three analog inputs.  The stage is being commanded to move in 5 nanometer steps at a speed of 50 microns per second, giving an analog output rate of 10,000 samples per second per channel (3 of them).  The shutter has a much lower output rate, at most 5 samples per second.  Our goal is to sync the stage movement with the shutter, so we need to read the exact position of the stage using analog inputs, one for each axis, x, y and z, polling as often as possible, though in reality it doesn't need to be more than one read every ms.