Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create Synced Continuous Pulse Train

Hi All,

I'm trying to create a continuous pulse train that is in-sync with an external trigger.  I am using a NI 9402 module in a NI cDAQ-9172 chassis.  When I use PFI0 for the external trigger and ctr1 (both on the 9402 module), I get this error "Sample Timing Type specified is not supported for counter output tasks on this device. Change the Sample Timing Type to Implicit."  If I change the timing type to Implicit, then the pulse train is not sync with the external trigger.  Is this possible?

Thanks for the help.

Ben

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,935 Views)

Hello Ben,

My name is Nick and I am an Applications Engineer for National Instruments.

Are you trying to start the pulse train generation using an external trigger?

This is done using the DAQmx Trigger VI. You can specify that the DAQmx task starts on a digital edge and the source of that edge (in your case PFI0)

The triggering section in getting started with DAQmx tutorial on ni.com goes into more detail about how to do this:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/4329

Please let me know how you get on and if you have any more questions.

Nick

Nick
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,925 Views)

Hi Nick,

Thanks for the information, unfortunately I still can't generate the pulse train.  I found a NI Example that looked promising (Gen Dig Pulse Train-Buff-Ext Clk-Cont.vi) but I get the following error.

Error -201296 occurred at DAQmx Write (Counter 1D Frequency 1Chan NSamp).vi:1
Possible reason(s):

Sample Timing Type specified is not supported for counter output tasks on this device. Change the Sample Timing Type to Implicit.

Property: SampTimingType
Corresponding Value: Sample Clock

Task Name: _unnamedTask<58>