Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting String Pots

I have 10 String Potentiometers and 2 Linear Potentiometers that I need to connect to one of NI Modules (in differential connection). Which Module should I use ? and how many channels should it have ?

I have cDAQ Chassis (8-slot) 9178. I also have NI 9216 which I don't know if it could do the job or not.

I appreciate any help on this, Its my first time to deal with DAQ systems.

Thanks in Advance

Ahmad

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,645 Views)

String Potentiometers is a very vague thing. They could have many different types of outputs.

- resistive potentiometer (simply a normal potentiometer)

- 0-10V analog output

- 0 (4) - 20 mA output

- Incremental Encoder output

- Absolute Encoder output

- digital communication interface like RS-232, USB, CAN,, DeviceNet or even Ethernet

depending on what type of String Potentiometers you have you may need VERY different IO modules to connect to them.

With the linear potentiometer I assume you mean a standard resisitive potentiometer.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,359 Views)

I mean the one attached below. I have an NI 9205 but I need to figure out the connection to the terminals also I don't know if the NI 9205 power is enough or I will need a DC power supply source.

Thank you 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,768 Views)

The NI 9205 does not provide power but rather consumes power from the chassis it is in. It has differential inputs and a virtual ground AI Sense for pseudodifferential inputs and a real ground. You will of course have to power your passive resistor sensors externally for them to work.

The 2 outer ends need to be connected to the power supply and middle tap to the AI input. Depending on the mode you use your module in you also will want to connect the ground of your power supply to AI- (differential mode), AI Sense (pseudodifferential mode), or Ground (single-ended mode).