Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

407 controller

Regards,

I am trying to settup an MTS actuator model 243.35 using a the 407 controller to do a displacement controlled test. I am new to Labview and the NI System and would appreciate some guidance or examples to get started configurating the system. I am using Labview 8.6 and a PXI-6251 card with a SCB-68 terminal block.

Bests 

DP

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(6,393 Views)

Hi DP,

I found the product manual for your 407 controller.  Is this correct?

http://civil.eng.buffalo.edu/cie616/4-HOMEWORKS/Homework3/Actuator%20Information/081007-Controller-M...

How do you plan to connect your PXI card and your 407 controller?  Are you are planning to use the user defined digital I/O lines to pass a signal or waveform to your controller?  If so, what type of signal are you trying to send?  The type of signal you are trying to send to your device will determine what kind of examples will work best for you.  If you are trying to use it like a servo motor, PWM examples would be a good place to start.  Here's an example setting up PWM with an M series DAQ card like your 6251:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/5043 

Sarah Yost
Senior Product Marketing Manager
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(6,378 Views)

Thank you Sarah for your reply.

I don't understand what you mean by a servo motor.

The way I am trying to set this system is send a command, program, signal analog or  digital such that I can make the actuator displace following displacement history I have already calculated.

The displacement history is resembles the picture below. I understand I will have to past this as a signal from my NI DAQmx system to the 407 controller as a voltage signal. The problem I have is identifying whether this should be an analogue or digital signal and also my other problem is how to get the 407 started to receive the signal.