Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtual Inverted Pendulum

Hi all, this is my first post so please forgive me if its in the wrong place. i have basic knowledge of labview and i do not have the PID &fuzzy logic control module. so i was wondering is it possible to create a  virtual inverted pendulum  on the screen using labview and being controlled by a custum made PID control algorithm? if it is possible could you explain how or where i can start. any help on this would be great because this is part of my FYP for college. thanks very much.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(6,538 Views)

Hi ladysman217f,

Welcome to the National Instruments forums! Don't worry, your question is in the right place. You're in luck; due to the modularity of LabVIEW, you can certainly implement this functionality. 

There are three kinds of interface implementation that I believe you could follow:

• Through Numeric Indicators, which would be the last fancy approach; this is where you could simply show the current characteristics of the VIP. These would include it's current angle, the current forces it is undergoing, the magnitudes of the driving signals to balance the device and more on numeric displays that the application user can see. However, I'm getting the feeling that you want to do something a little more exciting on the Front Panel, which is why I've listed the second two options:   
  • Through a 2D Picture and display a 2D representation of the pendulum. This would require you to perform all of the relevant calculations and also convert use these calculations to produce a relevant image to display the current state of the VIP. I think the advantage of this implementation is that you could show all of the relevant force and angle information as if the pendulum were on a diagram. This would allow the end user to see a direct relation between the motion of the pendulum and the forces that effect it.