Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview Help for Tensile/Co​mpression Test Setup with Newport linear stage(motor) and SMC 100 motor driver

Hi guys, i am a master student in mechanical engineering, i had never setup any electronic devices before, please help :smileysad:

i am building a single axis compression-tensile test setup, this setup consists of  NI USB-6343 X Series Data Acquisition, transducer techniques load cell(GSO series), transduces tech. signal conditioner(tmo-2), Newport linear stage(motor) and SMC 100 motor driver,

With the ability of this setup, i will drive the linear motor and make compression/tensile loads on loadcell and i will read the loadcell's output values, and also according to these values, i will continue to drive the linear stage or not !

As a summary: i need to control the Newport SMC100(motion driver) via labview , and also i need to comminucate this motion driver with the loadcell's output results via labview,

Do anyone have an "exact example setup" in LabView ? how can i do this with labview? from where should i start? What should i do? Any suggestions?

I have only 20 days to do this :smileysad:

Sincerely,

Best Regards..

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(5,495 Views)

You are trying to complete a force feedback application in a non-deterministic system (Windows) which may or may not work well depending on your control timing requirements. 

You will need to use the DAQmx driver to acquire signals from your X Series device continuously at a set sample rate. See the LabVIEW example finder for a ready made example of how to do this.

The values you read will have to be compared to your desired setpoint like you mentioned.

The output of this comparison should be used to control the movement of the actuator. The actuator you are using looks like it has a LabVIEW driver.