Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to solve following error in open loop stepper motor motion system

Hello! I am pretty new at this whole thing and I am trying to troubleshoot a problem. Our setup is as follows: cRIO 9022 with stepper motors, and 9512 modules. Now we run our setup for weeks non-stop and one of our motors needs to be rotating the entire time. We rotate at about 7200 units per second. It usually performs well for 3 or 4 days and after that rotation stops and I get: error -70197 NIMC_startBlockedDueToFollowingError: Start motion is blocked because of following error. Verify the axis feedback and control, and then execute a halt stop before starting the move.

I have done a lot of searching online on how to solve this and I thought I found a solution when I found the "load following error" function. However, I then realized that it falls under he Ni Motion with 73xx controllers. Whereas everything I have been using is NI-SoftMotion. Whenever I tried the function I received this error:   Failed to load shared library FlexMotion32.*:flex_load_follow_err:C. Ensure that the library is present on the RT target. Use MAX to install NI software or FTP to transfer custom libraries to the RT target. I tried using MAX to look at the software installed on RT target, but could not solve the problem.

I am really at a loss here on how to fix the error and keep the motor rotating for 3-6 weeks non-stop. Also I should mention I do not currently have an encoder setup for the motor and I use the "Line-velocity" function under NI-SoftMotion Express VI. to setup the movement. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,927 Views)

Hi,

Did you make sure your axis is set up to have no encoder and to be in a open loop? 

Best Regards,

T. Le
Vision Product Support Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,895 Views)