cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read/Write GPIB protocol in c#

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I have a configuration of a system controller and two instruments connected on a GPIB bus.

Being a c# developer I'm not able to get the full extent of how exactly things needs to be done with GPIB communication. The majority of examples don't follow the full protocol of what need to be the read/write steps between a system-controller and the attached instruments.

Kindly know that the examples that come along with VISA or 488.2 drivers installation are not explicitly pointing at the order that things need to be done.

I'll be so much happy if anyone could point me at an example of how should be a GPIB discussion between the system-controller and at least two instruments. Aspects like passing the control between the entities etc. will be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Oh Yes, C# of course. Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(9,881 Views)

Hi ,

Did you check this link for C# and Visual Basic.Net Instrument control Tutorial, here are the links: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/2739/en/

Also, there is an example, maybe you want to check it, this is the link: http://www.ni.com/example/26162/en/

There is not much information, but let me try a search for something useful.

Are you using Visual Studio?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(9,847 Views)

Hi,

I've read perhaps by now dozens of articles, those which you sent too or similar and watched the existing examples in c#. Yes, I'm using Visual-Studio 2015 and coding in c#/WPF.

The point remains as you mentioned - not much information. For c#.

So I'm hoping to find like a procedure, not even coding, that will tell me what are the steps to pursue when I need to control multiple instruments. It comes to the point that whatever I do, I get exceptions from the NI 488.2 or VISA DLLs that - "...need to be the CIC" or "GPIB bus error", etc.