Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

simultaneous data acquisition & webcam video

I am still relatively new to Labview. I only have student edition of the software and a USB 6009 DAQ and do not have money to purchase any expensive software unfortunately.

I would like to acquire data from my load cell and Shaft encoder (which is working fine as is) as well as simultaneously record video to be paired with the data. The goal is to simultaneously record an athletes force output and sync it with hopefully 30fps decent quality video. Likewize record the shaft encoder's output and sync it with 30fps video. Is there any way to do this cheap? If not is there any way to do this at all even with expensive software?

The other option is I could just acquire the data and trigger video recording at the same time. It would be ok if I have a separate video file and data file for review, the most important thing would be to start and stop data and video recording simultaneously. This seems like my best bet... So is there an inexpensive method to use Labview and a cheap (~$100 range) webcam or video cam to be able to simultaneously start acquisition of data in labview and record a video. The webcams I am interested in right now are Logitech's HD Pro webcam C910 and Webcam pro 9000.

The only thing I have come up with thus far is to just have a front panel button to start data acquisition and then go over and click the record button on my webcam software and do the reverse to stop...

Not sure if it is important but I am running Windows 7 which might be problematic...

Thanks for any ideas,

William Broch

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,757 Views)

This AD Instruments article epicts exactly what I want to accomplish http://www.adinstruments.com/news/241108/Top-Swimming-Coaches-use-PowerLab-and-Video-Capture-for-Tec...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,744 Views)

Elixirnova,