From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solar tracking with labview using camera

Hello

I am new to labview and  I am looking to track the suns movement with a camera and labview. It is my college project.

My plan is to have use a bar to  cast a shadow on a screen, much like a sun dial, and have the camera take a picture every 5 seconds of that screen. My problem is developing an algorithm to measure the length of the line and the angle of the line with respect to an origin. Any advice!!!!!!!.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,787 Views)

Hello darrencgray,

Thanks for your post on this forum.

Can you please give me some more details on what you want to achieve and which part of the project you are stuck at. Are you going to be using LabVIEW Vision Module and Image Acquisition IMAQ for the purpose of your project? Also which USB camera do you intend to use?

You might want to try and find some examples in LabVIEW which can he found in the NI Example Finder which can be accessed from Help>Find Example.

To get you started I think you should try and draw some images and manipulate them accordingly. Please find attached something I have found that might be able to help you with that.

Please let me know the stage of the project you are struggling with and I will see how I can help you further.

Many thanks,

Shalini B
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK & Ireland
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,761 Views)

Hello