Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Software required for image inspection

Hi all, 

I'm new to NI vision inspection and I need some advice. My day to day job is PLC programming and Im looking for cost effective vision inspection solution for machines.

Planned hardware used : 

Normal PC to deploy the runtime.

From quick reading I have picked software required for inspection, can yopu guys tell me if this is all I need.

- NI Vision Builder 

- Vision Acquisition Software (VAS)  for being able to get camer images from GIge or USB camers 

Is that what all need ? 

- Do I have options of sorting data in vision builder ( sorting arrays etc... )

- Can I send all that data to PLC's ?

- As I undertund for each system I will need runtime licenses unless I use NI hardware ? 

TIA 

Bart 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(726 Views)

You can download an eval copy, and poke at it. 

https://www.ni.com/en-us/shop/electronic-test-instrumentation/application-software-for-electronic-te...

I never really got much use out of vision builder, but that's because I had the full vision development suite at my disposal.  As a result, I can't tell you much about data sorting, but it's communication to PLC was pretty robust.

This becomes a discussion of trouble vs cost.  A standard vision runtime license is $590 (Rats, I should have bought a few when they were $450).  That's if you develop in the standard LabVIEW environment.   If you are deploying a lot of inspections, it's cheaper than deploying a lot of Vision Builder licenses.  For that matter, if you are really into pulling your hair out, you can run multiple inspections with multiple cameras with a single program using a single runtime license.

How complex is your inspection?  Keep in mind that, while software is important, lighting and the optics are also critical.