From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QR code detection in FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

We are doing a school project atm where we use a usb-webcam and a MyRio to detect some QR codes and make a drone fly.

We would like to know instantly (or as fast as possible) when a QR code is detected, and what it says, so we are looking into the posibility of putting the QR code detection on the FPGA.

I am still new to FPGA programming, so I am wondering if anybody have some examples/sample code I could look at.

We have allready made a QR code detection program, but the VI's we use are not to find on the FPGA vi.

Any help is much apreciated.

Best regrads

Marcus

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,779 Views)

Is it too slow to detect the QR codes if you run the program on its real-time OS? The program would be more flexible then. You said you would like to process it "as soon as possible", but I am curious how much mSec is acceptable in your application? I am sorry I do not give you any answers, but I am interested in your project 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,697 Views)

The image isn't going through the FPGA so it may not make sense to process it that way. Now it may be interesting from a learning standpoint.

I did a search for qr code fpga and it seemed light but image processing is done on FPGAs and qr is probably not difficult since it's a very structured data format. 

Certified LabVIEW Architect, Certified Professional Instructor
ALE Consultants

Introduction to LabVIEW FPGA for RF, Radar, and Electronic Warfare Applications
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(3,692 Views)

Hello MRicefield.