Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Camera acquisition slower than trigger using LabView/IMAQdx, works fine with FlyCap2

Hello,

Help is much appreciated. I am trying to operate a FLIR Grasshopper3 USB camera (GS3-U3-23S6M) using LabView and it seems to max out at acquiring images at 20 Hz. However, I will need this camera to work at 40-50 Hz regularly. I think it is not a problem with the camera (which has a max FPS of 163) or cables because I can operate the camera with the FlyCap2 software at 163 FPS with the trigger disabled, and at 40 FPS with the trigger enabled (note, I am supplying a 40 Hz trigger signal with a pulse generator). But once I swap drivers and try to operate the camera with LabView, it can't seem to acquire any faster than 20 Hz. I can slow down the trigger to below 20 Hz and then LabView/the camera can keep up. Any thoughts on what the source of this issue may be? I am rather new to LabView, so I'm sure it is something in my code that is slowing the whole process down. I have attached the code to view. 

Sorry if this is not the right forum location for this question. I'm new to NI forums. 

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,228 Views)

You do a lot of thinks in the while loop. Try this please. You can also play with image formats. I have changed to png. If programm is still to slow, disable saving and try again.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,192 Views)

Hi, unfortunately I can't open your file because it is in a newer version of LabView than I have. Could you save it to the 2017 version and send again please?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(1,180 Views)

Sorry, I did'nt have access to an LV PC during last days. Please try this.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(1,158 Views)