Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analyzing a video for when a LED comes on

Hi all, 

I've been tasked with analysing experimental data of surgical performance. Along with the raw data which measures various displacements and forces I have a video of the experiement. To start with I need to sinc the video with the raw data so that I can identify certain features in the data and then view the video at that point. An LED is positioned in the video and shines red when the other data stream start acquiring data. So i need to programmatically find the frame when this light comes on and then convert that to a time so I know what the ofset is between the video and the data streams.

How would I get started doing this? I've never done anything like this before so any guidance on where to get started would be great. 

Thanks in advance

Stephen 

Labview 14.0, Labview 12.0
CLAD
Mechanical Engineering Student
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,826 Views)

there is many method to do that i told you some of them 
1there is example in labview with name of color matching see this vi   it could detect when red led is on
2 you can use ROI for place that led exist in video and use  IMAQ Light Meter (Rectangle) VI with thersould
3 you can use histogram analyse in led position 
4 you can wire led to trigger of your daq and then you do not need image processing too 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,806 Views)

Thanks for the reply. I've looked into these suggestions and what I find is that they are used to process images, mostly jpeg format. My video is in wmv form, how will i go about bringing in the video file to labview. I've seen various tutiorals on how to do this using a camera but not for an existing video.

Sorry if this is blatently obvious but I am very new to this stuff. 

Thanks

Stephen

CLAD
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,794 Views)