LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using C++ library with labWindows/CVI 2020

Hello,

I am very new to labWindows environment. I have created a C++ static library(.lib) using QtCreator using Microsoft Visual C++ Compiler. The library uses the winsock2.h and wsock32 library. I am able to create a test project with Qt and test the library.

I need to use the same library inside a labWindows application. I was able to link the library without problems when the wsock32 library was not being used, but now I have the following errors:

error: Undefined symbol '__imp_sendto' referenced in "c:\Workspace\{....}\myLibrary.lib".

error: Undefined symbol '__imp_setsockopt' referenced in "c:\Workspace\{...}\myLibrary.lib".

and many more related to the wsock32 library.

I tried to add "#include <winsock2.h> but then I got conflict errors with <windows.h> and <winsock2.h>.

As far as I understand, I need to link the ws_32.dll but if I include the library file in the project the problem stills the same.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,509 Views)

Adding a header does absolutely nothing to resolve link errors. You need to add the according winsock library Ws2_32.lib to your linker settings. This is the import library that resolves the imports to Ws2_32.dll. Under Windows you do not link to DLLs, you either link to import libraries or load the DLL dynamically in your code with LoadLibrary() and GetProcAddress().

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
Message 2 of 5
(2,495 Views)

Hello @rolfk,

Thanks for your response, I have searched in my computer files for the WS2_32.lib file and then added to the project settings, now I dont have any issue regarding the winsock2 library. Thank you.

I have linked with QtCore and QtNetwork libraries in the project because I use Qt classes inside my library.