LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple console application on real-time target

Hi,

I am looking into creating a simple console application on a real-time target. However, it doesn't seem like it will be as easy as I expected. I noticed in the BIOS that Legacy USB Support is turned off since the Boot Configuration is LabVIEW RT, and there seems to be no way to override that. I was hoping to use the stdlib and fgets or something of the sort, but it seems that will not be an option.

What are the options I have as far as implementing this? I just need something simple to read in a line from the keyboard when available. 

Thanks in advance, and please bear with me, I'm new to LabWindows/CVI Realtime module.

Ricardo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,562 Views)

Hi,

If you let us know what real-time target you are using, it could help us see whether overriding the legacy USB support is an option. Furthermore, here is a guide we have for gettings started with the CVI Real-Time Module that might answer some questions of yours.

Getting Started with the LabWindows/CVI Real-Time Module
http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/374686e.pdf

Alex C.

National Instruments

Applications Engineer

Alex C.
Applications Engineering
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,507 Views)

Hi,

This is being developed for a PXIe 8820. 

I've also briefly played with the notion of using using the NI VISA Library to treat the USB Keyboard as a RAW resource, but I can't seem to find any guide to configuring that correctly. I managed to successfully open the resource, but I can't seem to read any input from the keyboard successfully.

Ricardo

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,501 Views)

Hi Alex,

Just wanted to ping you on this topic. Have you been able to find any solution?

Thanks,

Ricardo

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(2,470 Views)

Hi,