LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use*callbackData

Solved!
Go to solution

i am not an expert c programmer which is most likely why this question arises...

What is the proper way of using the *callbackData variable??

For instance when creating an async callback or in my current instance, a menu Callback.  I am trying to pass a string through this but am having trouble casting.

if (checked == 0) {

if (FindPattern(file_name,0,-1,".xml",0,0) > 0) {

device_handle[i] = NewMenuItem (5, MENU_LOAD, file_name, -1, 0, LoadDeviceFile, &file_name);

i++;

} //else not a .xml file

while (GetNextFile(file_name) == 0) {

if (FindPattern(file_name,0,-1,".xml",0,0) > 0) {

device_handle[i] = NewMenuItem (5, MENU_LOAD, file_name, -1, 0, LoadDeviceFile, &file_name);

i++;

} //else not a .xml file

}

void CVICALLBACK LoadDeviceFile (int menuBar, int menuItem, void *callbackData,int panel) {

//????how to cast?

I know I could technically take the menuItem number and find out, but that another function call, and am mainly looking on how to do the process 

In general, are there any examples of this anywhere in CVI?  I would be interested in knowing how to do this with any data type.

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,496 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ngay528

The problem in using callbackData parameter is that it actually is a pointer to something, so you must be sure that when the callback executes, callbackData points to a valid object in memory; in particular, this means that you cannot pass the address of a variable local to a function (which can be the case of your 'file_name' variable), which is likely to be no more valid once the callback executes since the originating function has probably ended.

In your case, you should first malloc some space for the string and then pass this address in callbackData parameter, casting it to a char * inside the menu callback.