LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

write data to excel file, problem with data format

Hello all, I'm a beginner on labview 13.0, since a few months.

I am trying to write datas on excel sheet, but the format does not work properly. I enter for example %5.5f for floats, but the VI does not take it into account. Am I doing it wrong ?

(See code attached)

Many thanks in advance

Thibaud

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,917 Views)

Note : in order to reproduce the problem, you have to select a folder and create an excel file named "try"

thanks

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,912 Views)

You appear to have uncovered a "mis-implemented Feature" (I don't want to call it a "bug" ...).  I followed the data through the RGT Functions down to the place they are actually passed to Excel -- they are translated into Strings, using the formats you designated (%5.5f), and at that step, the String values do, indeed, have the requested format.  However, when the data appear in Excel, not all of the String contents show up.  For example, B1 has 0.00555 instead of 0.0055454.  I am not certain why this should be the case -- I intend to ask NI about this ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,874 Views)

thank you for your answer !

Do you know any other way, I can correctly write in excel  the data of my example ?

Thibaud

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(2,869 Views)

Oops -- I meant to add a suggestion for your Code Development.  I replaced the initial building of the Excel File slightly, as shown here:

Create Excel Name.png