cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

webcam continuous capture and save to avi later

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to LabVIEW.  If anyone could help with the USB webcam and LabVIEW 2010.  I have all the IMAQ drivers installed.

What I am try to do is capture video continuously into a buffer memory or an array and be able to extract that buffer video and save it as an AVI video.

So the main question is buffering video in memory and write as an avi file in later time.

Sorry if this confusing.  Please let me know, I can be more details to clear thing up.

Thank you so much for all your help.

Dan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(7,832 Views)

Hi Dan,

In order for you to create AVI file, I am assuming that you are using the IMAQ AVI Write Frame from IMAQ library. The function receives an image to add to the AVI frame so the image buffer that you want to create in the memory should allow you to keep the images captured by the USB camera in frames as well.

Have you tried to use queue to save the images? To use queue, you would need to create an IMAQ image (IMAQ Create) for every image (create a unique handle for the image) and then add the IMAQ frame to the queue, hence saving it to the memory. Once you finished the acquisition, you can dequeue images from the queue to save the IMAQ frame to AVI.

I hope that this helps you started.

Best Regards

- Meadow -
LabVIEW 7.0 - 2011, Vision, RT, FPGA
TestStand 3.0 - 4.5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(7,819 Views)

Hello Meadow,

Thank you so much for a quick respond.  To answer to your questions.  Yes I did tried using IMAQ AVI Write in state machine.

For the second question about using queue, no I have not use queue to save images.  I am not quite sure of understanding of using queue in LabVIEW.

Could you please explain or direct me where I can find more information about using queue?

Thank again.

Dan

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(7,804 Views)

marlin12,