LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

watt meter

hello guys,

i'm trying to build a circuit for calculating kwh for a dc application. can anyone help me how to build in labview , share vi if possible 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,805 Views)

?@MrRao wrote:

hello guys,

i'm trying to build a circuit for calculating kwh for a dc application. can anyone help me how to build in labview , share vi if possible 

• Not all Forum participants are "guys".
  • I'm not an engineer, but even I could build such a circuit (it might not be "ideal", and a good EE would probably sneer, but it should work ...)
  • Why don't you put in a little effort, design the circuit, and you "share" it with us?  Why should we "do your work" for you?

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,775 Views)

I'm sorry for not sharing the VI screen. here i attached the VI Screen. let me know is it correct? or need to be changed.

Thanks.

2019-03-08.png   

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,762 Views)

Wh meter for DC power

Well the basic formula you are using is about as good as you can do without an actual wattmeter with Ah integration. (Watts/time)

What exactly is your issue?

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(3,748 Views)

I don't see where you are doing any accumulation of the watts.  You are just taking the current power and multiplying it the amount of time the program has been running.

So if you had 1 kW the first hour, 2 kW the 2nd hour, 3 kW the 3rd hour, you would have used 6 kWH.    But your VI takes the latest value of kW (3) and multiplies it by 3 hours making it look like 9 kWh.

You probably want a shift register to accumulate your watts as you read them.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(3,747 Views)

Ravens Fan brings up a good point... I missed that. 

Also doing it this way you have to make a certain amount of assumptions