From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using FPGA and Labview without RIO board.

Dear Sir

I am a student. I want to connect my own FPGA and make a program on labview and then transfer to FPGA.I do not want to buy RIO.Is it possible to work

like that without purchasing RIO.

Thanks a Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,734 Views)

Nope.  And I don't see this happening any time soon.  NI puts a lot of work into getting their LabVIEW FPGA drivers to work for their own product.  There's no way they are going to even attempt to support somebody else's.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,719 Views)

I will answer your question the way you asked it.

Yes NI supports programming FPGAs using LabVIEW without RIO boards I've been doing it for years and it works great.  Here are a few non-RIO products I've used LabVIEW FPGA with.

PCI-E Version

PXI Version

USB Version

That being said if you a student you can also get the myRIO for $250 which has a built in FPGA, and dual core ARM for real time.  Loads of features and cheap with the down side of not being reconfigurable like the more expensive RIO devices.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,658 Views)

Hooovahh wrote:

Yes NI supports programming FPGAs using LabVIEW without RIO boards I've been doing it for years and it works great.  Here are a few non-RIO products I've used LabVIEW FPGA with.