LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

use subVIs on a parent host reference a FPGA VI

Hi all,

I'm trying to create a main Host VI that can act somewhat like a main menu for users. I have another VI that I have added to the main Host VI as a subVI. This subVI includes a reference to a FPGA VI. The main Host VI gives me the following error referring to this subVI: "The subVI is not executable. You must fix all errors in the subVI before this VI can run."

When I open the subVI from its original project folder which includes the FPGA VI it runs normally.

However, now that I have added it to the main Host VI (which is in a new project folder) I don't know how to reference the FPGA VI.

I want to create a main FPGA VI that will include all of my FPGA subVIs (I think this will allow me to execute some FPGA subVIs in parallel, but please correct me if I'm wrong). I'm new to LabVIEW and having a lot of trouble figuring out how to set up the subVIs. I've been messing with the configuration of teh FPGA reference, but still haven't gotten anything to work.

My specific questions are:

In my host subVI how do I reference the correct FPGA subVI?

Where does the FPGA subVI need to be saved? - in the same project folder as the main FPGA VI?

Thank you!

Jen

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,280 Views)

How do you have your project set up?  Does the original, working VI reside in one project, and your new Host VI is in a different project?  You need to have the FPGA target configured in the project in order to be able to access it in any VI within that project.  You should add the FPGA target to the new project (containing the Host VI), give it the same name as in the working configuration, and add the FPGA VIs under it.  After that it should work, if I've correctly guessed at your configuration.  The actual arrangement of the files and folders on your hard drive isn't important so long as the project references them properly.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4