From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgraded from Labview 7.1 to 8.0

Hello, I am new to labview and all of it's functions.  I am trying to upgrade one of our test sets from Labview 7.1 to 8.0.  After the upgrade I have a few vi's that no longer work.  I am unable to post the vi's today but I wanted to start this thread in case someone has any ideas w/o viewing the vi's.  One of the major issues is broken wires on vi's that worked in 7.1 but do not in 8.0.  One example is from the "niFgen Get Session Reference.vi."  After the update the error states-"This wire connects to a polymorphic terminal that cannot accept this datatype."  The wire goes from the "register session" to the session reference.  I will try to upload the vi ASAP but the earliest that could happen is next week.  Any ideas before then would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Paul B

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 68
(1,844 Views)

NIFgen is not part of LabVIEW, but part of an instrument driver, so make sure you download and install the correct version. Maybe there is a better forum for your question. (sorry, I am not familiar with it. Also search the forum (example)).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 68
(1,840 Views)

Also please explain why you are upgrading from a prehistoric version to a slightly newer prehistoric LabVIEW version. Both are at least 16 years old! Why not leave it all at 7.1? What is your OS? Windows XP?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 68
(1,831 Views)

I understand the stupidity of upgrading from one dinosaur to another but my options are limited in many ways.