LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

timing

Hello, I am fairly new to labview and am having trouble minimizing the timing for a complete cycle of my program. I am using the PCI-6251 for relay testing and would like to reduce the test cyle period. I have narrowed down the main timing issue to be one of the SubVIs in my main program. Currently one cycle of this subVI will complete in approx. 30-35ms. I have attached the VI if it helps. Any suggestions for the structure or a different way to implement the tasks would be helpful. Thank you.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,658 Views)
30-35 msec or 30-35 seconds? I find it difficult to believe that the VI you posted takes only 30-35 msec to run.

Since you did not post any of the subVIs, without access to the subVIs it's impossible to tell if one of these can be improved in terms of speed. However, you can make some general coding improvements:
  • It seems that all your subVIs have the error in/error out clusters. Thus, you can simply wire them in a row and completely eliminate the sequence frame. Your code will be easier to read and edit.
  • The convention for the error in/error out is to have the "error in" input in the lower left corner and the "error out" in the lower right. This makes doing the first point easier and more intuitive.
  • You can eliminate most of your case structures by using the "Select" function (found in the "Comparison" palette).
  • Normally the "Stop" function is not used in a production-type LabVIEW application. This seems to imply that you're running your VI by using the "Continuous Run" button in the toolbar. If you're doing this, stop, and recode it since this is not the way you should be running a LabVIEW application.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,645 Views)