LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stop dll execution

Dear all,I'm new to Labwindows/CVI and I'm not experienced with C...

My problem is very simple: I have to produce a system that calls functions contained into a DLL but I have to produce a mechanism to halt the execution of the called function.

In other word I call a DLL function and, if the user request it (for example if it takes too time), I have to terminate the execution of this function.

The real scope is:

LabVIEW calls a wrapper DLL.

The wrapper DLL calls (by name, contained into a string argument) a function contained into another DLL (defined by the user)

LabVIEW should terminate the execution of the previous step.

I have tried to stop directly the LabVIEW thread using the "abort VI", but I found that it doesn't work due LV is locked (or better the VI that calls a DLL function is locked) until the DLL function execution has been finished.

So I'm thinking to use threads in LabWindows/CVI to execute the DLL function (I will start one thread for each function) and the to use the CmtTerminateThreadPoolThread function of LabWindows/CVI to stop the execution of a thred.

I can't use the CmtExitThreadPoolThread function because my thread can't call the ProcessSystemEvents function because it will just call a DLL function, the thread code is similar to:

int CVICALLBACK executeExternalFunction(void* functionData) {

externalFunctionArray[externalFunctionToExecuteArrayIndex]((char*) functionData);

}

Does the CmtTerminateThreadPoolThread function makes the thread to release all its resources (it will open GPIB handles)?

There is another way to stop a thread execution?

thanks

Andrea Costantino 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,074 Views)

How to move under LabWindows/CVI?

thanks 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(3,062 Views)