From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

signal analyzer in labview

Hi all,

I am newbiew here and also in LabView. I want to design a PXA signal analyzer (Agilent) in LabView. Main goal is to control signal analyzer from labview and save its data to the computer. I am totally new at this LabView. Any help appreciated!! Thank you...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,830 Views)

Have you done much programming before LabVIEW?  To do this will require knowledge of a couple of standard design patterns - producer/consumer, and state machine.  However, as a newcomer, you probably need to start a bit earlier.  Here is a two to three week list of things to get you started.

1. Work through the online tutorials for LabVIEW.  Do a few simple things (e.g. show a sound waveform on your front panel).
  2. Learn about the event structure.  Do a few examples.
  3. Learn about producer/consumer architectures using queues and event structures.  Do a few examples.
  4. Learn about state machines.  Do a few examples.
  5. Write your application.

I wrote a tutorial for a complete analysis style application.  The last part here, with links to the rest.  However, it is fairly advanced, so run through the first four topics above or it may confuse you.

If possible, find a local LabVIEW guru to help you.  This will speed up your development immensely.  Good luck and hang in there.  LabVIEW is a lot of fun, but is quite different from text based programming.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,825 Views)