LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

several pixel value in one iteration

Hi,

I am still very new to labview and I have a timing problem with a while loop.

I am attaching the VI so that it is easier to understand.

Basically, I read X and Y voltages (with a PCI card) that correspond to a position in an image (that I load). I then convert those positions into a pixel positions and extract the pixel values in the image .

I then use those pixel values to write on an analogue output.

My Problem is the following:

The "Get Pixel Value .vi"  only works Pixel by Pixel meaning that I can only write 1 value every while loop iteration. This is to slow considering that I need to write at least one sample every one/two microseconds and that the while loop is slower than that (at least I think?...)

How can I transform this vi so that the while loop converts at least 100 position into 100 pixel values so that I can write at least 100 values in one while loop iteration?

Thank you very much for your help,

Best ,

Renaud

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,270 Views)

Can you use "IMAQ ImageToArray" to get the 2D array of data and then index the array in a for loop? You can put in the two arrays of row/column locations and index those on the terminal.

IndexImage.png

Message 2 of 6
(3,234 Views)

You will not be able to achieve microsecond loop times on a standard PC.  If you converted the image to an array (as suggested above) you could perform your calculations and lookups on an FPGA system.

Message 3 of 6
(3,228 Views)

Thanks a lot for those quick replies !

Image to array is a good solution but I found a work around with a while loop.

I understand that I won't have microsecond loops without a FPGA but I should be able to read/write around 1000 samples every loop iteration, correct? Otherwise what is the purpose of a DAQ bord type PXI or PCI to have a sampling frequency of 1 to 2 or even 5 MHz??