LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sending information between two while loops

Hello,
I'm a beginner to Labview.
Right now I have a program with two while loops. One while loop (Loop A) cycles constantly, the other while loop (Loop B) exectues only with an input (button press) from the user. This structure is useful for me because I want a constant value to be output from loop B unless the user presses a button to change it. It is also useful because I use the Loop Iterations counter to count the number of button presses - it works because the loop only executes when a button is pressed.

Unfortunately, I would like to send data (the value of the constant output, and the value of Loop Iterations) from Loop A  to Loop B, as my create/save file structure is in Loop B. In this regard I encounter difficulties.

How can I send data from one while loop to another? I think a local variable might be my solution, but I am having trouble getting that to work. Other solutions would be appreciated.

If necessary, I can upload my program. Let me know.

Thanks for your help.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,680 Views)
Does loop B send data to loop A ONLY when when a button is pressed?

I am thinking about an Action Engine which would contain (1) a boolean to indicate that there is new data and (2) the actual data. 

If I could see your loops, I could suggest something more appropriate..

Some ideas that come to mind is using a queue where the queue could only be accessed if a condition is met.  If you press a button, based on certain conditions in the loop B, it would set a boolean in loop A (Local???  ) to a Case Structure which you'd access the queue and retrieve data.  That way if the button is pressed multiple times, you would not loose any data while loop A is processing it.

There are many ways to approach a solution.  Can you tell us more about the application and show us the loops?

RayR
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,671 Views)

Zappow wrote: