LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sample the signals

Hi

I need to acquire a signal(through serial comms) and sample the signals.

After that i need to do FFT for original signal.pls help

Thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,906 Views)

You can use VISA, to read-write to a serial port. Search the Labview examples.

Labview has many mathematical functions too. Be more specific if you have a problem

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,895 Views)
Thanks

I am new to LabVIEW, basically i am going to download the waveform from oscilloscope(for serial comms what are basic things i need to look at to start programming........because i got program that is not clear for me).Please help in interfacing,what are the steps i need to follow.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,891 Views)

Start by a high level design of what you want to do.  Describe it in simple terms.  That will help you define which blocks you need to accopmplish it.  Then look for examples that fullfill those items.

Example: 

1. Acquire signal

a) Open serial port

b) Send command

c) Query port for data

d) If data is available, read it

e) Pass data to the next block

f) Determine if data reception is continuous to decide if loop is more appropriate.  And potentially have the ability of transmitting the data to another block while receiving the data.  Or data is obtained in a single shot beofre passing it for analysis / processing.

2. FFT on signal

a) Obtain data

b) Carry out FFT

c) Display / store results

In the example I described above,  you should be able to find code examples for both by doing a search on Serial Communication and FFT.  The examples will probably not interface readily to aone another, but may require a small modification.  You could establish that as your starting point.  If you are beginning to program using Labview, it would be wise to review proper coding methods (do a search). 

RayR

Message 4 of 10
(2,888 Views)

Thanks Joe