LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Polymorphic" class method with array of objects as an input

Dear Community,

I have been using LV OOP for a few months now, and I am today facing a new challenge.

Let's imagine that I created a class that will serve as a driver for a device (a temperature sensor for example).

In this class I will have a few attributes, for example a sensitivity coefficient, a correction factor, etc.

I will also have methods for communicating with the device, say WriteRegister.vi, ReadRegister.vi, CalculateCorrectionFactor.vi, etc.

Now, I want to use several devices, and we will assume that I can communicate with all the devices with a communication bus either individually (send message to device 1) or in a broadcast mode (send message to all devices).

I will create several instances of my class, and each will have its own separate attributes (for example, correction factor will vary from one device to another).

There will be some cases where I want to send a message at the same time to all devices (for example, Write a register to configure the internal clock) and some cases where I want to write to each device separately (for example set the correction factor).

For this case I would like to have a WriteRegister method that would accept:

• An array/cluster of objects as an input (Object Ref In) and use the broadcast communication
  • A single object as an input (Object Ref In) and use the individual communication

This does not seem possible, but I cannot think of another way to handle this situation.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,275 Views)

@seb_bd wrote:
  • An array/cluster of objects as an input (Object Ref In) and use the broadcast communication

You are going to have to use a FOR loop.  If you need to really have these methods parallel, you could try to parallelize the FOR loop.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions