LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

python call in labview with DAQmx write

Hi, I am pretty new to calling python scripts in Labview. In this program I want to run my python function simultaneously with a while loop which has analog write function as shown in the picture. I am not able to do that even after using sequence functions. Is there any way to do that? currently the python call happens before the while loop runs. Thanks in advancepython.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,305 Views)

Hi hishivam,

@hishivam wrote:

In this program I want to run my python function simultaneously with a while loop which has analog write function as shown in the picture. I am not able to do that even after using sequence functions. Is there any way to do that? currently the python call happens before the while loop runs.

Your VI will execute the while loop and your Python call in parallel (due to THINK DATAFLOW!).

This does not mean they will start at exectly the same time!

The loop will run until you press this Stop button, so I assume it will run at the same time as your python script is executing.

How do you know the Python script is executed first?

Btw. using the AutoCleanup tool would improve your block diagram! (Usually this is a bad sign for your code quality.)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(1,269 Views)

Hi Gerd,

Thanks a lot for the answer. To provide some supplemental information, I want to run the while loop with the python call but the python call runs first as i saw from the  HIGHLIGHT mode (attached picture for reference). I am really stuck on how to work with this since the while loop executes much later on. Any suggestions are welcome. new_python.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(1,249 Views)

In general, with highlight execution running

- The code runs much slower (always)