From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

populate updatable drop down list based on files in the folder path

Hi, 

I am a beginner in labview. I am stuggling on where to start.

Here's what I need to do. 

I want to create an updatable drop down list. It can be automatic upon opening the program or manually update by clicking an update button. The drop down list will list all the filenames that are in .cvs format. These files are stored in a folder path.  Insider the folder, they are stored in different subfolders, the drop box should be able to find those files inside the subfolders. Once the user select a filename from the list, the program will read the data inside that file and import into an array so I can display the data. 

I have an idea on how to display the data, but I don't how to populate the drop down list based on the files in the folder, make it updatable and then import that user selected file's data into the the array. 

Can anyone help me with this? 

Thanks, Ruth

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(5,547 Views)

Use a Menu Ring.  To update its list, you use a property node.  The property you need to set is Strings[].  It is an array of strings that populate the available items.

To find your file names, use Recursive File List.vi.  It is found in the File I/O->Advanced palette.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(5,518 Views)

Hi Ruth,

Here's what I need to do.

You need to program it using LabVIEW…