From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

multiple queues management

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

I am an student and I am making project that requires me to go beyound 2 loops.

I want to make architecture that will allow to comunicate each loop to each without hard modifications.

I am wondering how to make code clean without queue references wires messing around and going from one loop to another.

- My first Idea was to remove all queue wires and connect to queue by its name like in frame 3:

1.jpg

But Desktop trace execution Toolkit shows that I have memory leak. Documentation says that new queue ref is created when I obtain queue that exists and adresses shows that is true.

-My secound Idea was to use variant atribute and global variable and create functions that will allow me to create, exit , enq and dequeue from whom and whenever I want. Schematic idea looks like this

create

2.jpg

enq

4.jpg

deq

3.jpg

exit

5.jpg

This time I didn't have leaks so may I assume this is correct way?

But people always tell to avoid global variables so I am not sure.

-My third idea was to bundle all queues into cluster and then bundle and unbundle by name whenever I want, There is openG function that allows me to get value from cluster by name so if I name queues it should be easy to do. So I will only have 1 wire for cluster and 1 wire for error for each loop. In this case data flow is keept because all stays with cluster.

-My forth ide was to create functional global to store all queues but it didn;t worked at all 🙂

If someone has done that before please give me a hint 🙂

Best regards

pawhan11

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,907 Views)