LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview- Excel template path at run time(to build .exe file)

I am new to labview and I have one doubt in it. I have one main.vi file where I use local drive path to invoke one excel template, Now I have to convert this .vi file in to .exe file. So now I cannot give the local drive path to invoke the template because the client will not have the same path as mine. So what I did is I created one project. Under this project I created one virtual folder which contains the excel templates. My doubt is how to give path for the excel-template in main.vi file. Please let me know if you guys know. thanks in advance.

Thanks & Regards

saamy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(4,817 Views)

Hi!

One way to solve this is to include the excel template when you create the installer. So that it will be saved like this:

My program folder

|------------------------->Data folder

|                           |------>Template.xlsx

|My program.exe

In your vi you can use this:

a.png

With the application folder node, you can easily build the path to the data folder and the excel template. The node will get the path from where the application is installed on the client computer. 

Remember that the template cannot be moved if you choose this strategy.

Regards,
Even

Automated Test Developer
Topro AS
Norway
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(4,812 Views)

Hello Saamy,

To create the file path you use the file I/O->File Constant->Current VI Path pallet. So depending on your current file path you can build or strip the path to use the template.

One more thing you have to take care when normally you create a VI If you use these function to finding the path of your template this will work fine, but if you create the EXE the output of the current VI path came different, the output of current VI path in EXE include the application.exe so you have to create path according to your current VI output.